Movie Review : Rising Sun (1993) ~ Two Out of Five Stars

Movie Review : Rising Sun (1993) ~ Two Out of Five Stars
Do you like it when the people in charge of casting pair a new or up and coming actor with a seasoned veteran actor, and the chemistry between the two of them makes the movie worth watching?

In the movie Rising Sun (released 1993), the casting folks teamed up Sean Connery (seasoned veteran actor we all know and love as Bond … James Bond) with Wesley Snipes (who, at the time, was on his way up in the entertainment industry and immediately became a recognizable face when he appeared in the Michael Jackson music video Bad).

Snipes and Connery connected as two very relatable characters with differing detective habits, skills, and styles. They weren't Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, but they did make an awesome investigative duo. Their onscreen chemistry totally worked!

This film did not make the ShortList.com's short list for The 25 Greatest Movies of the 90s. However, if you're in the mood for a murder mystery, suspense thriller, with an East-Meets-West vibe; plus you like Sean Connery or Wesley Snipes or both, then you will like both of the actors in the movie. But you still may not like the movie.

This film did not make my unofficial Top 10 List of favorite Sean Connery movies or favorite Wesley Snipes movies. With a powerhouse pair like those two guys, my expectations were extremely high. However, for me, the film gets two stars, out of 5 stars because the script was not that great and some of the scenes did not really add to the plot, in order to make the thrill of unraveling the murder mystery and the suspenseful moments keep you on edge from start to finish.

That's my opinion/review. Have you seen this movie? Feel free to disagree with my 2-star rating.

Reference: The 25 Greatest Movies Of The 90s. ShortList. N.p., 23 Sept. 2012. Web. 29 Nov. 2017. https://www.shortlist....t-movies-of-the-90s/84250#

Image credit: Wikipedia

Agree

kgord

Rising Sun

I can't really render an opinion on this movie because I haven't seen it. I just think that the screen duo is an unlikely one, but yet again, it might work. Who knows? I would watch it if I had a chance to.
Posted by kgord on 12-01-2017

Disagree

No one has disagreed yet, be the first!

Comments

vinaya
I have heard good reviews of Rising Sun. However, I ma yet to watch this movie. I don't like Snipe, however, Connery is one of my favorite actors. I think I will like this movie. It does not matter whether the movie made money or not, as long as the movie has a good story and has my favorite stars, I will enjoy the movie.
Posted by vinaya on 12-01-2017
wiseagent
Well, haha... You were still generous, because I would give at most only 1 star (because of Sean Connery). In this movie it seems like nothing works right. Clumsy direction, bad script, cast without connection... A disaster for the eyes and the pocket of who paid to see it in theaters.
Posted by wiseagent on 12-02-2017
foxchannel
You are right. I was being generous because I love Sean Connery so much. I don't just love him as Secret Agent 007. I just love the actor Sean Connery. Not only is his ruggedly handsome but he even has a good singing voice!
Posted by foxchannel on 12-06-2017
Anonymous
Wesley Snipes is a good actor but has fewer emotions. Unlike any other actors for the lead role, they were able to portray the role with less effort.
Posted by Anonymous on 12-03-2017
Mehano
Sadly, I have never seen Rising Sun but just judging from the acting cast this movie should be extremely good and enjoyable especially if you're into thriller/action. Who doesn't know Wesley Snipes and George Clooney? Two movie legends and I will definitely put the movie on my "to watch" list. Thank you for the recommendation.
Posted by Mehano on 12-03-2017
Zellis55
Now I am very interested in seeing this cinematic adventure! I am personally excited to see this movie with its general plot line and unlikely combination of great actors. I cannot wait to see this and I thank you for this crucial information about the film!
Posted by Zellis55 on 12-07-2017
lovely
You just did a great job reviewing this movie, I have heard of the rising sun but yet to watch it, with this description and narration of yours.I will see this movie myself to analyze it myself and compare notes.I like the plot already and I might find this compelling to watch.It was good of you to review and recommend this.
Posted by lovely on 12-10-2017